Gants Hill

The GANTS HILL branch of Jewish Association of Cultural Societies (JACS), meets most Thursdays at the 2a Clarence Avenue, Gants Hill, Essex IG6 2JH from 1.00pm. to 3.30pm.

If you are 60ish  more or less, retired or semi-retired, active and ready to extend your circle of friends, interested in broadening your horizons and obtaining some mental stimulation, as well as enjoying a wide range of social interests, then JACS is for you.

We have a range of guest speakers, entertainers, outside visits and individual events connected to the Chagim (festivals).

After the presentation / entertainment we serve tea or coffee and cakes.

Branch Chairman: Mrs. Gloria Rones.

 

Social Events

PROGRAMME FOR:  January 2020 - September 2020
Thursday 2nd January 2020 -  Quiz - Ros has prepared her annual quiz. A fun and interesting afternoon.
Thursday 9th January 2020 -  Toni Neobard and Kate Broad - 'For Better or For Worse' - join us for a light hearted and quirky look at marriage and relationships through the eyes of the Victorians.
Thursday 16th January 2020 -  Kate Poole - 'My career at the National Portrait Gallery - Collecting Faces'.
Thursday 23rd January 2020 -  Howard Slater - 'The interesting past of Audrey Hepburn and her war years'.
Thursday 30th January 2020 -  Daryl Kane - A welcome return of this vocalist.
Thursday 6th February 2020 -  Mike Rogers - 'My experiences as a Globe Theatre Volunteer'.
Thursday 13th February 2020 -  Geoff Bowden - 'Doin' What Comes Naturally - the life and music of Irvin Berlin'.
Thursday 20th February 2020 -  Nigel Coleman - 'The Life of John Le Mesurier'.
Thursday 28th February 2020 -  William Byrne - Return of a favourite vocalist.
Thursday 5th March 2020 -  Louise Heibron - 'The First Women Rabbi'.
Thursday 12th March 2020 -  Claudia Mernick - 'Gilbert and Grimsdyke'.
Thursday 19th March 2020 -  Judy Karbritz - 'Behind the Cameras at the Movies'.
Thursday 26th March 2020 -  Roy Blass - 'A-Z of Las Vegas continuation of the alphabetic journey'.
Thursday 2nd April 2020 -  AGM - Come and be entertained by the Committee.
****** CLOSED FOR PESACH 9th & 16th APRIL - RE-OPEN ON 23rd APRIL ******
Thursday 23rd April 2020 -  Taylia Hambling - 'How I trained my 'Care' dog and how this has given me a new lease of life'.
Thursday 30th April 2020 -  Councillor Zulfiqar Hussain - 'A Year as Mayor of Redbridge'.
Thursday 7th May 2020 -  VE DAY - 'An indoor street party to celebrate VE Day 75 years ago!.
Thursday 14th May 2020 -  Bob Kayne - 'Hours of Fun for Half a Sixpence' - do you remember the I-SPY BOOKS?
Thursday 21st May 2020 -  Gary Benjafield - A tribute to Neil Diamond.
Thursday 28th May 2020 -  Alan Tartes - A Radio and TV Music Quiz.
Thursday 4th June 2020 -  Alan Dein and The Petticoat Lane Foxtrot - London's Jewish Jazz History Remembered.
Thursday 11th June 2020 -  Bill Smith -  A vocalist new to our group will entertain us.
Thursday 18th June 2020 -  Lynne Bradley - Returns to talk about 'The Jews in Musicals'.
Thursday 25th June 2020 -  Meryl Catty - 'To Coin a Phrase'.
Thursday 2nd July 2020 -  Christine and Peter Padwick - Their unique entertainment - 'The Story of the British Music Hall'.
Thursday 9th July 2020 -  Sylvia Keith -  'The History and Restoration of Copped Hall, Epping'.
Thursday 16th July 2020 -  Bob Theobald - 'The History of Glynbourne'.
Thursday 23rd July 2020 -  Michael Potter - 'My experiences as an evacuee during WWII'.
Thursday 30th July 2020 -  Jodie Beth Meyer - A welcome return of this vocalist.
Thursday 6th August 2020 -  David Barnett -  'Tea Shops and Corner Houses - The Story of Joe Lyons'.
Thursday 13th August 2020 -  Howard Loosty - 'My Life in Show Business'.
Thursday 20th August 2020 -  Paula Short - 'Talks about her travels'.
Thursday 27th August 2020 -  Mike Brown - 'The Day Peace Broke Out - VE Day'.
Thursday 3rd September 2020 -  David Tomback - 'From Succahs to Skyscrapers - The Jews and their Buildings'.
Thursday 10th September 2020 -  High Tea -  A High Tea with Kenny Charles entertaining - Ticket Holders only.